Tributes paid to Madr-e-Mehrban


Shadow Correspondent
National Conference on Wednesday paid glowing tributes to Madr-e-Mehrban Begum Sheikh Mohammed Abdullah on her 18th death anniversary and recalled the most crucial and pioneering role she played during the political movement launched by Sher-e-Kashmir besides upliftment of women and weaker sections of the society. Leading the senior leaders, party functionaries and workers in paying floral homage to Begum Akbar Jehan, at a function held at Sher-e-Kashmir Bhavan here, former minister and State Secretary National Conference Mr Surjeet Singh Slathia said that Madr-e-Mehrban worked tirelessly all their life to strengthen the bonds of amity and brotherhood between communities and regions. He particularly referred to the role played by Madr-e-Mehrban in bringing about harmony, promoting female literacy, empowering women in different spheres and working towards the betterment of down-trodden segments of society, irrespective of caste, creed and colour. Speaking on the occasion, Satwant Kour Dogra Provincial President Women Wing Jammu Province who organized the function said the people of Jammu and Kashmir will always remain indebted toMadr- e- Meharban for keeping the great mission of Sher-e-Kashmir alive during his long spell of imprisonment.
She described her contribution in promotion of female literacy and empowerment of weaker sections of the society as exemplary and added that her life has been an example of selfless service to poor and needy. Laxami Dutta, Veena oberia, Daljeet Sharma, Lata Sharma, Pinky Bhat, Kuldeep Kour, Amrit Varsha and Soma Devi also paid growing tributes to Madr-e- Mehrban described Madr-e-Mehrban a towering figure of Jammu and Kashmir. Prominent among those present on the occasion included Qazi Jalal Ud Din Ex-MLA, Brij Mohan Sharma Ex- MLC, Master Noor Hussain Ex-MLC, Dharamveer Singh Jamwal, Anil Dhar, S. S Bunty, Abdul Gani Teli, Vijay Lochan, Ayub Malik, G. H Malik, Mohinder Singh, Dilshad Malik, Reeta Gupta, Mohd Saleem Rtd DC, Mr Rohit Bali, Mrs Anju Grover, Mrs Raj Kour, Mrs Neena , Mr Mohd Farooq Mughal, Mr Sanjay Gupta, Mr Ravi Dogra, Mr Rakesh Singh Raka, Mr Reyaz Malik, Mr Som Raj Taroh, Mr Rohit Kerni, S. Tejinder Singh, Mr Nitish Gowshami, Mr Waris Gill, Mr ML Munshi, Mr Reyaz Ahmed and others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here