Vinay of National Academy bags Udhampur Climbing title


Sports & Allied News
JAMMU, May 29:
Viney Thakur of National Academy High School, Udhampur won the Boys title in the District Udhampur Sport Climbing Championship which concluded at Sprawling Buds School, here. In a close contest with upcoming climbers, Sunil Kumar and Ansh of the same school, Viney displayed good technique and temperament to clinch the title. Sunil and Ansh bagged second and third place respectively. However, results in the Mini Boys category were on expected lines with Harsh Pir, who represented the state last year, coming out easy winner against first timers, Abhinav Sharma and Laksh Dev Singh, finished second and third respectively. Similarly, in the Sub Junior Boys category, Nitin Sharma emerged victorious against equally talented climbers Kishore Dev Singh and Pratham Kesar who had to be content with a silver and Bronze medal. A good contest was, however, witnessed in the Mini Girls category in which the budding climbers competed like seasoned climbers and won the applause of the crowd. Ultimately, Shivali Thakur, Shruti Sharma and Manyata Kotwal claimed the first three positions respectively. Similarly, in the Sub Jr. Girls category, Ira Gupta, Krishna Barmotra and Sunita bagged the first three positions after an interesting contest.
In all, 74 students including 22 girls competed for honours in the district championship. However, competitions in the Men’s, Women’s and Girls’ categories were not held for lack of adequate participation. In the concluding function, Chairman of Sprawling Buds ICSE School, Rahul Sharma was chief guest who encouraged the climbers to work hard and bring laurels to the state and the country. Prominent among others present on the occasion included Secretary Indian Mountaineering Foundation North Zone Committee, New Delhi, Ram Khajuria; Principal Apple Kids International, Arti Sharma; Joint Secretary of Mountaineering Association of J&K, Shawetica Khajuria; organizing Secretary of the competition, Sonam Sidharth and Anukampa Sharma of National Academy, Udhampur. The day-long competition, organized by Mountaineering Association of J&K, conducted under the technical supervision of Shashi Sharma. Deepika Dutta was the judge while Ambreen Fatima, Shilpa Charak and Sorav Deep Singh and Vishali Sharma were the Route Setters cum Belayers. The competition sponsored by J&K State Sports Council.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here