ICCR Jammu completes Eventful 6 Years in Jammu organises ‘Rendezvous with a Actor’


Shadow Correspondent
Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR) Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India organised a unique programme ‘Rendezvous with a Actor’ featuring Vikram Sharma an alumni of Lee Strasberg Theatre and Film institute ,New York. The occasion also marked the completion of 6 (Six) eventful years of ICCR in Jammu. Unfolding details, Regional Director ICCR, Balwant Thakur said that in just Six years ICCR established new International professional standards and trends of cultural showcasing in Jammu. In this short span of time with Ninety Eight (98) major events, ICCR established the city of Jammu as an International destination of vibrant cultural happenings.
In last Six years, Eleven International groups visited Jammu and mesmerised audiences with world performances which people out here never had the occasion to witness earlier. The first in the series to come from outside India was the dances of Zambia. This amazing presentation was an eye opener for everyone and people out here were exposed to the International standards of performances and presentations for the first time. This followed the presentations Dances of LAOS by the artists of Republic of LAOS, JAAZ concert by Poland, Music and Dances of Malaysia, Narrative traditions of Spain, Folk Music of Bangladesh, Dances of Sri Lanka, the percussions of Belgium, Santoor Recital by Bee Seavers of Germany, Dances of Mauritius, and finally came the music of Tunisia.
Senior theatre practioneers and young aspiring actors who participated in this day long programme had a wonderful occasion to expose themselves to the new emerging trends of actors training and self exploration.

Prominent amongst those who was a part of this important session included A S Amn (Additional Secretary, J&K Academy of Art, Culture and Languages), Makhan Lal Saraf, Suresh Kumar, Madan Rangeela, Subash Jamwal, Naveen Chopra, Anil Tickoo, Sunita Pandit, Sumeet Sharma, Vijay Malla, Madan Gopal Padha, Sunil Prakash Sharma and Sourav Verma


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here