Women’s T20 challenge

In an effort to popularise women’s cricket, the BCCI has organised an exhibition women’s T20 ahead of Qualifier I at the Wankhede Stadium on May 22.
According to a BCCI statement, Indian stars including Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana will be the star attractions for the game titled Women’s T20 Challenge. Top international cricketers including Suzie Bates, Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Ellyse Perry, Alyssa Healy, Megan Schutt, Beth Mooney (Australia) and Danni Wyatt and Danielle Hazell (England) have confirmed their participation for the match, which will start at 2 p.m., five hours before the scheduled start of the IPL match.
Diana Edulji, former India women’s captain and a CoA member, has been pressing for a women’s IPL. However, considering the lack of depth among Indian women’s cricketers, the idea was shelved. However, the BCCI has made a start with the exhibition match.

About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *