Sitaram Yechury re-elected CPI(M) general secretary


The CPI(M) on Sunday re-elected Sitaram Yechury as its general secretary, at its 22nd party Congress.
“We had a momentous Congress, detailed discussions and we have taken important decisions in this Congress.
If any message that should go to rank and file and our class enemy, it is that CPI(M) has emerged as a united party,” said Mr. Yechury.
“The main task today is to defeat this BJP government and for that all necessary measures will be undertaken.”
West Bengal leader Tapan Sen and Nilotpal Basu find a place in the new Politburo, while former CITU leader AK Padmanabhan has been relieved.
Kerala leader S Ramchandran Pillai continues to stay on in the Politburo despite speculation that he will retire and return to Kerala.
From Kerala, MV Govindan Master, Chief Editor of party’s organ Deshabhimani in Kerala, and former Kerala Assembly speaker K Radhakrishnan are the new entrants in Central Committee.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here