Dewang of Jodhamal, Soham of DPS win Chess titles


Sports & Allied News
JAMMU, April 18:
Dewang of Jodhamal Public School and Soham Gupta of DPS bagged the boys’ under-14 and under-17 Chess titles respectively in the ongoing inter-school (indoor games) competitions of Jammu district, organised by the Department of Youth Services and Sports (DYSS), at Indoor Complex, MA Stadium, here.
In under-14 final, Dewang defeated Ayush Gupta of Heritage School while in under-17 title clash, Soham trounced Sayam Gupta of KV No. 1 Gandhi Nagar.
The Results: UNDER-14: Semifinals: Dewang Gupta of Jodhamal beat Pavitra Sharma of St. Xavier School; Ayush Gupta of Heritage beat Ajay Kumar of Government Middle School Digiana. UNDER-17: Semifinals: Soham Kamotra of DPS bt S Jain of DPS; Sayam Gupta of KV 1 Gandhi Nagar bt Soham Gupta of Jodhamal Public School. Quarterfinals: Soham Kamotra of DPS bt Piyush of St. Xavier;
Soham Gupta of Jodhamal Public School bt Sidharth of BSF School; Sanyam Gupta of KV No.1 Gandhi Nagar bt Dushyant of BSF School; S Jain bt Amanjyot of APS Miran Sahib.
CARROM: In Carrom under-17 doubles event, Vishvas and Ayush of SOS defeated the pair of Deepak and Sandeep of Government Middle School Digiana in the final. Similarly, in under-17 age group, Dheeraj Pandit and Himanshu Samyal emerged winners after they defeated the duo of Dilpreet Singh and Himanshu Kumar of Sarvodya Public School.
TABLE TENNIS: In Table Tennis competitions teams today qualified for the final in both under-14 and under-17 categories. The finals have been scheduled for tomorrow. The Results: UNDER-17: Semifinals: APS Kaluchak bt Heritage School 2-0: Singles: Simranjeet bt Mridul 21-08, 21-13. Doubles: Sourav and Simranjeet bt Ronak and Jastej 21-09, 21-14. APS Domana bt APS Ratnuchak 2-0: Singles: Ujjwal bt Harish Saini 21-09, 21-05. Doubles: Pranav and Atul bt Pranav B and Mandeep 21-19, 21-08. UNDER-14: Semifinal: APS Kaluchak bt APS Domana 2-1: Singles: Yashanvi lost to Vansh 17-21, 16-21. Doubles: Yashanvi and Sahil bt Vansh and Pranam 21-17, 21-19. Reverse Singles: Ran bt Shivjeet 21-14, 21-18.
Today’s matches officiated by the technical penal including Sanjay Khajuria, Vikram Jamwal, Vishal Bharti, Tarun Pal Singh, Amit Kalsi, Kamal Singh, Sunil Kumar, Sunny Dogra, Gurbachan Singh, Anil Dogra, Nitin Sethi, Raman Kumar and Ravinder Singh.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here