Miran Sahib zone lifts U-14 boys Football title


Sports & Allied News
JAMMU, April 10:
Miran Sahib Zone lifted the boys’ under-12 title in the ongoing inter-zone district level Football Tournament, organised by the Department of Youth Services and Sports (DYSS) under Khelo India at Government Middle Model School, Satwari Cantonment, here today.
In the final, played today, Miran Sahib zone trounced Gandhi Nagar zone by three goals to nil. Jatinpal Singh, Gurveen Singh and Kartik were the scorers. Third place went to Jammu zone after they beat Akhnoor zone 2-1 in the hardliner. Earlier, in the semifinals, Miran Sahib beat Jammu zone 3-0 while Gandhi Nagar zone outplayed Akhnoor zone 2-1.
The winners and runners-up trophies in under-12 category presented jointly by Kiran Jyoti, H K Koul, Poonam Kotwal, Chander Kanta and Ravi Thakur (all Zonal Physical Education Officers).
Speaking to the teams, HK Koul said that sports play an important role in the overall development of youth. He laid stress on participation in the competition in true spirit of sportsmanship.
Meanwhile, the under-16 competition today reached the semifinals stages. Similarly, in under-19 event, underway at BSF Stadium, Paloura, the teams have reached the final.
Today’s matches officiated by the technical penal including Bharat Bhushan, Ajay Sharma, Amit Sharma, Gurbachan Singh, Taranpreet Singh, Ranjeet Singh, Subash Chander, Harvinder Singh, Satinder Singh and Ravinder Singh.
The Results:
UNDER-16: Quarterfinals: Gandhi Nagar zone bt Khour zone 4-0; Bhalwal zone bt Akhnoor zone 4-0; Jammu zone bt Bishnah zone 1-0; Miran Sahib zone bt Dansal zone 2-0.
UNDER-19: Semifinals: Miran Sahib zone bt Jammu zone 1-0; Akhnoor zone bt Gandhi Nagar zone 5-0.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here