Karthik, spinners guide Tamil Nadu to Deodhar title


Tamil Nadu clinched their second title of the 2016-17 domestic season, beating India B by 42 runs in Visakhapatnam to clinch the Deodhar Trophy. Dinesh Karthik scored 126 to guide Tamil Nadu to 303, before the spinners, led by Rahil Shah, restricted India B to 261.
Karthik also scored a match-winning century in the recently concluded Vijay Hazare Trophy final against Bengal. Tamil Nadu have won both 50-over competitions this season.
Karthik’s 126 came off just 91 balls, with 14 fours and three sixes. He was supported by N Jagadeesan, who scored 55 in a stand of 136 for the fourth wicket. Mumbai seamer Dhawal Kulkarni took 5 for 39 for India B.
India B began aggressively in their chase, and at one stage were 83 for 1 in the 11th over. When Shah dismissed Shikhar Dhawan, Tamil Nadu clawed back. The four spinners shared seven wickets between them, with Rahul taking three. Gurkeerat Singh top scored for India B with 64.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here