3-Days conference on “Recent Advances in Materials Science & Spectroscopy-2017” commences at SMVDU


Shadow Correspondent
A three day National Conference on “Recent Advances in Materials Science and Spectroscopy (NCRAMSS-2017)”, scheduled for 15-17 February, 2017 organized by Department of Physics Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University (SMVDU), Katra in collaboration with Laser and Spectroscopy Society of India (LASSI) commences today in the premises of the beautifully equipped campus of SMVDU.
Conference is inaugurated by Distinguished Scientist, Dr. Sudershan Kumar, Ex. Director General, DRDO. Prof. Sanjeev Jain, VC, SMVDU also graced the inaugural ceremony with his august present. Other dignitaries, who graced the occasion, were Prof. A. L. Verma, Founder Member LASSI and Advisor S&T Research Amity University Noida and Prof, V. K. Bhat Dean Faculty of Sciences, SMVDU.
Chief Guest, Dr. Kumar deliberated on the importance of Materials in the real life.
He enlighten the audience about different eras of development of the materials from stone age to Iron age which represents the foundation of metallurgy in which alloys of copper and tin were discovered to produce superior tools.
He explained that wide range of materials available to material scientists can be divided into different categories and once the properties of the materials are understood the appropriate material for a given application can be processed and selected. He also provided an insight into the world of nanomaterials and nanotechnology.
In his inaugural address, Prof. Sanjeev Jain, VC, SMVDU emphasized that Conference of such nature provides a great opportunity for the scientific community, not only to update knowledge and keep abreast with the latest developments in the field of materials science and spectroscopy, but also an occasion for the invited speakers, delegates and participants to exchange ideas and interact with each other. He congratulated Department of Physics for organizing RAMSS-2017. Prof. Jain said that this will act as channel for creating an atmosphere which will encourage and inspire students and young researchers for their overall academic growth.
Dr. Kamni, Co-convener, conducted the proceedings of the conference. Dr. Vinay Kumar as organizing secretary of the National Conference summarized the event and presented the vote of thanks.
He expressed his sincere gratitude for financial support rendered by platinum sponsor, ATOS India, Toshvin Shimadzu, Agilent India, J&K Bank, Indosaw Scientific Ambala, Research India and Sanjeev Prabhaker, J&K Mess Contractor. He expressed his sincere thanks to Dr. Jitendra Sharma, co-convener, Dr. Ram Prakash and Mr. Pankaj Biswas both, Joint Secretaries for their untiring efforts and support in organizing this conference.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here